International Folk Dancers of Ottawa
International Folk Dancers of Ottawa
Welcome Page

About Us

Folk Dancing

Upcoming Events

Photo Gallery

Lists of Dances

Related Links

Contact Us

Home Page

International Folk Dancers of Ottawa

 

WHAT IS INTERNATIONAL FOLK DANCE?
International folk dance refers to the traditional dances of different countries and cultures and offers an opportunity to learn and appreciate music and rhythms from around the world. Whatever your age and background, we invite you to enjoy many hours of fun and exercise in good company. Although we do have some couple dances, you will usually not need a partner as most dances are performed in open or closed circles, or in lines.

SOME DOS AND DON'TS
Here are a few pointers to make everyone’s experience a pleasant one: Normal politeness is expected. Say "Please, "Thank you" and "Excuse me" as needed. Don’t forget to thank your partner after a dance even though he/she may have stood on your toes.

Learning a new dance requires concentration on the part of the dancers. So don’t talk during lessons no matter how interesting the conversation with your neighbour might be. Of course you can pipe up if you have a question for the instructor.

Dancing is a social activity which means you have to interact with others. And as most of our dances are performed in a line you have to hold hands. Depending on the dance you often hold hands down as if you were taking a stroll, less often you place your hands up in a W position and sometimes you rest them on your neighbours’ shoulder. In the W and shoulder positions you have to keep your hands up and not pull down on your neighbour no matter how tempting it is to rest them. If you have an urgent need to leave the dance or you realize you don`t know the dance, please do not stop dead in your tracks. Rather back out elegantly, drop your hands, then join your neighbours’ hands to reform the line.

Better still, if you don’t know a dance, stand behind the line near the beginning and copy the steps of the person in front of you, or join the line at the very end. Never join the line by breaking in between two dancers, unless you`ve asked them.

Please:

  • No perfume or cologne – this is our policy as well as Community Centre policy. We do however recommend unscented deodorant
  • Wear comfortable clean clothing as you will be moving a lot and breaking a sweat
  • Wear soft soled shoes – we are not tap dancing and you will preserve your precious feet
  • Do not wear rings with stones which could cut into your neighbours’ fingers
  • Welcome! We hope you will enjoy yourselves with the International Folk Dancers of Ottawa (IFDO).

Club de danse folklorique internationale d'Ottawa
Club de danse folklorique internationale d'Ottawa
Page d'accueil

A propos de nous

Au sujet de la danse folklorique

Calendrier

Galerie de photographies

Les listes de dance

Liens importantes

Contactez-nous

Page principal

 

LA DANSE FOLKLORIQUE INTERNATIONALE

POUR UNE SOIRÉE RÉUSSIE

La danse folklorique internationale regroupe les danses traditionnelles de différents pays et offre une belle occasion de découvrir les rythmes, les musiques et les cultures d’autres régions du monde. C’est une activité physique qui vous procurera des heures de plaisir en bonne compagnie et qui s’adresse aux gens de tous âges et de tous horizons. En général, vous n’avez pas besoin de partenaire, car les danses se font en ligne ou en cercle ouvert ou fermé, et plus rarement en couple.

Voici quelques lignes de conduite à suivre pour que chacun puisse vivre une expérience agréable : La politesse élémentaire est de mise. Au besoin, n’hésitez pas à dire « s’il-vous-plaît », « merci », « pardon », etc. Après une danse de couple, n’oubliez pas de remercier votre partenaire… qu’il/elle vous ait ou non écrasé les orteils.

Pendant les périodes d’enseignement, les danseurs ont besoin de toute leur concentration. Veuillez donc éviter de parler, même si la conversation avec votre voisin/e est passionnante. Évidemment, vous pouvez poser une question à l’instructeur/trice. La danse implique une interaction physique. Et dans la plupart des danses, on se tient par la main, formant une ligne. Souvent, les mains restent en bas, comme pour une promenade. Mais il arrive aussi qu’on place les bras en position de W ou qu’on tienne les voisins par les épaules. Dans ces deux cas, soutenez votre propre poids en résistant à la tentation de vous appuyer sur vos voisins.

Si vous devez sortir de la ligne parce que vous ne connaissez pas la danse ou pour une raison urgente, évitez de vous arrêter pile. Retirez-vous doucement en joignant ensemble les mains de vos voisins pour reformer la chaîne.

Si vous ne connaissez pas bien la danse, restez derrière les personnes qui se trouvent au début de la ligne et essayez de suivre leurs pas, ou encore allez à la fin de la ligne. Si vous connaissez la danse, ne brisez jamais le contact entre deux danseurs pour vous placer entre eux, à moins qu’ils vous en aient donné la permission.

S.V.P.:

  • Évitez les parfums ou lotions après-rasage – c’est aussi une exigence du centre communautaire. Les déodorants non parfumés sont toutefois recommandés.
  • Portez des vêtements propres et confortables, car vous allez bouger et avoir chaud.
  • Portez des chaussures à semelles souples – nous ne faisons pas de la danse à claquettes, alors ménagez vos pieds.
  • Évitez les bagues serties de pierres, qui pourraient érafler les doigts des autres danseurs.